Eglet Adams Announces Recipients of 2021 Community Involvement Scholarship

Each year, Eglet Adams offers a community involvement scholarship to three students who are currently enrolled in an accredited undergraduate, graduate or professional program in the United States. The scholarship award supports the education of students who are committed to making their community a better place and protecting the rights of others.

Eglet Adams has a long history of supporting the Las Vegas community. Since 2004, we have awarded law school scholarships to students in need. In 2013, we focused our scholarship program on third-year law students at the William S. Boyd School of Law in Las Vegas. Eglet Adams provides a student’s third-year law school tuition, books and an internship opportunity at the firm. In addition to our support of the Boyd School of Law, we happily support many local charities and associations, including but not limited to, the American Society for Suicide Prevention, Make a Wish Foundation, Veteran’s Village, Three Square Food Bank and the Asian American Advocacy Clinic.

The community involvement scholarship allows Eglet Adams to honor students outside of Nevada, and support them in their endeavors to make the United States a better place to live. We believe that education, along with passion and drive, empowers those to make these positive changes in protecting the rights of others. By offering scholarships that help educate students who want to promote and uphold societal excellence and goals, we feel that we are investing in a more positive future.

We received more than 120 applications for our 2021 community involvement scholarship. After a lengthy review process and some very difficult decisions, the three winners are featured below. We are proud to be able to support the education of these three impressive recipients who are making a positive impact on their community.

Read the excerpts below to learn more about them.


Nicholas Truong

Nicholas Truong is a freshman at Santa Clara University, majoring in biochemistry and minoring in biotechnology. When given the chance, Nicholas loves helping young children and families struggling with similar medical situations that he experienced as a child, and is deeply involved in the MAGIC Foundation and UC San Diego Health – Hillcrest – The Bannister House. In the future, Nicholas hopes to become a doctor and enter the orthopedic field specializing in pediatric conditions.








McKenna Merle

McKenna Merle is a 17-year-old college sophomore, graduating this spring from Clark College in Washington State with her Associate of Arts Degree in general studies, as well as her Associate of Applied Science Degree in biology. McKenna will go on to attend Washington State University in the fall to pursue a degree in veterinary medicine and pathology. McKenna is dedicated to supporting her local community as well as her Native American heritage. McKenna’s interests include trap and skeet shooting, playing the fiddle and various forms of art, mostly acrylic on canvas.







Jorge Montano

Jorge Montano is a rising junior at Arizona State University studying mechanical engineering. Ever since he was a child, Jorge can remember working with his hands to build everything and anything that popped into his head. This early passion for building led him down the path of engineering and becoming involved in the Engineering Without Borders (EWB) and Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS) programs. These two programs have allowed Jorge to complete real-world engineering projects related to solar energy that provided electricity to residents of a local Native American reservation.

With the help of this scholarship, Jorge will be continuing project work that gives back to local communities of underrepresented peoples. Additionally, Jorge hopes to pursue a minor in sustainability and academic research that focuses on the development of renewable and sustainable energy.





Click here to learn more about the Eglet Adams Community Involvement Scholarship and to apply for the 2022 award.